NewsRock Bands

DISTRICT 13 Have A New Music Video

After releasing the videos for Shadows, Wild Flowers, Soma and Is This The Way (the last two videos reached over 70k views each on YouTube), London-based heavy alternative rock trio DISTRICT 13 is proud to share a new video for the track First Impressions, taken from the debut album Soma released in July 2019:

First Impressions reflects how people try to give a good impression of themselves when they meet someone for the first time, even projecting a fake personality of themselves in order to fit in. The video tells the story of someone who is socially awkwardly, waiting for a new person and is very nervous and worried. But the wrong personality cannot be maintained in the long run. The song itself, however, is about all situations in life that affect the first impression. Vocalist and guitarist Jon Wild commented:

I used to see many city workers in suits, who hung out in metal bars at night and loved this music. It felt like they had to wear a mask during the day, but at night they could be themselves. I think everyone has to wear a mask sometimes. But in the end, it’s all about being who you want to be.

First Impressions and the whole Soma album have been produced by Georgi Stanev.


Soma is available at the following platforms:





Track Listing:

  1. Wild Flowers
  2. Dark Horse
  3. Shadows
  4. Sweet Talk
  5. Cantankerous
  6. Vacation
  7. Is This The Way
  8. When You Come Around
  9. First Impressions
  10. Detached
  11. When I’m Gone
  12. Soma



Jon Wild – Vocals, Guitar

Richard Vanderpuije – Bass

Asen Milushnev – Drums


DISTRICT 13 Online:






DISTRICT 13 is a heavy alternative rock band based in London. The band came together when Asen (Drums) and Richard (Bass) placed an advert for a singer to start a new project. Jon (Vocals/Guitar) applied and the band was formed. DISTRICT 13’s aim to infuse Heavy Metal and Punk to create their own unique sound. They have been described as a cross between Black Sabbath and The Ramones. The songs are mostly uptempo heavy and the band prides itself on a high energy stage show. Lyrically the songs are made of dark themes.

The band have been performing live shows and have received an extremely positive reception from audiences. Highlights for DISTRICT 13 include performing at the Hills of Rock festival in Bulgaria in 2018, this festival was headlined by Judas Priest and Iron Maiden.

On 15th July 2019 the band released their debut album – Soma. It was produced by Georgi Stanev. The album has been met with positive reviews and the release of Soma is accompanied by a video for the single Wild Flowers. Their songs Soma and Shadows have gained real traction online and also continue to woo audiences during their live shows.

DISTRICT 13 are going from strength to strength and are set to release two new music videos in 2020. Their single for Is This The Way was featured in movie titled ‘Yatagan’ (released 18/03/2020) by famous Bulgarian director Andrey Andonov.

Early 2020 they have had two of their songs aired on BBC Introducing and received amazing response from presenters and listeners. The band have been invited again to perform main stage at the Hills of Rock Festival in Plovdiv, Bulgaria in 2020; this festival headliner will be Slipknot. Due to the corona virus, this festival has also been postponed to 2021.

DISTRICT 13 have already been able to share the stage with famous names like Iron Maiden, Sabaton, Judas Priest and Tremonti to name but a few.

Related Articles

Back to top button